Do you say I would love to do that but …?


 

free-picture-002Achieving things in life is difficult, it is tough. The universe will test your commitment to the task. It will either judge you worthy or unworthy. Are you a great idea’s person but no good at following through? Are you full of enthusiasm for an idea and a week later you have run out of steam? If you have answered yes to any of these questions, then this post will be helpful to you.

I am not judging anyone in this post, as it could just as easily describe me, as it could you. The only difference was that I became aware that this was one of my negative tendencies and decided to do something about it. When I looked at myself with honesty, I could see that I was a great idea’s person but a lousy doer.

I looked at my friend who had gone to work in Australia. After I had said I was thinking of going there. I noticed another friend who was travelling around the world as I had planned to do; and I thought, these people are living my dreams. I felt happy for them but resentful for myself, whilst knowing without a shadow of a doubt; it was nobody’s fault but my own.

I was working with older people and I noticed, the happiest ones, were the people who had followed their dreams. The people, who had major regrets, were the people who didn’t follow their dreams. Most of these people regretted the things they didn’t do, rather than the things they did do.

I thought about my dream to become a writer and how I had left it too long. As if life itself, was answering me I saw examples of people who started successful careers in their later years. One thing all these people had in common was self-belief and I realised to my dismay; this was a quality I lacked.

I began to take the advice of a lot of new age gurus who said “Fake it, till you make it” You know what? This actually works. It was a long journey but I got there in the end. At age fifty two I published my first book. Thoughts on life”as an e book on Amazon. This was in response to a regular reader who e mailed me; and said how she would love to have some of my blog posts, in a small book.

I started to finish a book I had started a long time ago, which is due to be released early this year. Now I am working on my third book.

Dreams can come true but you have to reach for them and make them happen. You have to have faith in yourself and believe with all your heart, that you have something to give others. What is it you get lost in when you do it? What brings you joy? It could be making cakes, writing, counselling others, inspiring others. Imagine a world, where we all do the thing we love as a job and we can create heaven on earth. Take that gift and it is a gift, share it with the world and make our world, a better place. Then come back and tell me about it.

Wishing you all love & laughter always,

Athena

 

8 Comments

  1. Congratulations on the book release, Athena! Great inspirational post!

  2. Very inspiring! Thanks for finding me and am glad for the link. Yes! I can do this!

    • You are most welcome Gretchen, I am glad to be of assistance, please drop by again. Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment.

  3. Great post Athena — found an earlier version of myself throughout. I loved this part and it also speaks my heart [I’ve done a few rants (I mean posts) on this very theme.]

    ” You have to have faith in yourself and believe with all your heart, that you have something to give others. What is it you get lost in when you do it? What brings you joy?”

    We have been so conditioned to, first of all, believe in our worthlessness and then to completely doubt that anything we find JOY in could be a GIFT we could offer to another. Fortunately, our paradigm is shifting rapidly and this is yesterday’s thinking, soon to be sloughed off as a blatant LIE by the Collective. Thank you for sounding the clarion call to JOYFUL SERVICE as a means of co-creating HEAVEN ON EARTH. A true Sister of my Heart!
    Many Blessings, Alia

    • Thank you so much for all your kind words and taking the time out of your busy day to leave a comment. I hope you will visit again soon.

  4. Hi Karin, thank you for the pingback.

Trackbacks

  1. Living Your Dreams | Miraculous Endeavors

Leave a Reply

